2024 Honorees

Alabama Healthcare Hall of Fame 2024 Honorees

The following healthcare leaders were selected for the Alabama Healthcare Hall of Fame, Class of 2024.  The induction ceremony is scheduled for August 10, 2024, at the Alabama Activity Center in Montgomery.


Regina Benjamin, MD, MBA Family Med., 18th U.S. Surgeon General

Joan Bergman, PT, PhD Physical Therapy Pioneer; Educator

Sumpter D. Blackman, MD Revered 50 Yr. Rural Physician

Kenneth Brewington, MD Gynecologist/Oncologist,Hosp Administrator

Jean Cowsert, MD* Medial Practice; Hospital Leader

Joy P. Deupree, PhD, RN Health Literacy; Nursing Leader

William Ferniany, PhD Former CEO UAB Health System

Marnix E. Heersink, MD, Ophthalmologist; Eye Treatment Developer

Joseph Henry Johnson, MD* Creation of Institute Deaf & Blind

Max Michael III, MD Dean Emeritus UAB School of Public Health

Elizabeth Barker Morris, BSN, RN Nursing Leader; Exec. Dir. ASNA

Kent G. Palcanis, DDS, MSD Academic Dentistry, Leader

David R. Thrasher, MD Pulmonary Medicine, Public Health. Teacher