Alabama Healthcare Hall of Fame Nomination Information

Nomination Deadline:  The deadline for receiving nominations to the 2020 Hall of Fame is Monday, March 2nd, 2020.  The Awards Luncheon will be held at the Alabama Activity Center in Montgomery, on a Saturday in July, 2020.


Candidates for induction into the AHHOF should, by his or her work and accomplishments have brought honor and fame to their field of healthcare. These are individuals who clearly standout from the mainstream of their respective fields.


Selection Criteria:

Nominee must be currently or previously engaged in the field of healthcare in Alabama for a significant period of time.

Contributions by the nominee must distinguish them from the mainstream of others working in the same field.
Nomination form should be accompanied by a letter from the nominator describing in detail the accomplishments of the nominee including education, positions held, appointments, and other significant and relevant information. The characteristics of the nominee in the areas of caring, scholarship, and/or dedication should be clearly identified in the nominator’s letter.

A minimum of three and not more than five letters of support should accompany the nomination packet. Newspaper, magazine and other media information should not be included in the nomination materials, but may be referred to in the nominator’s letter.

The nomination form must contain all relevant contact information and be submitted and signed by an individual nominator and not by an organization.

Click here for the Nomination Form.

The candidate nomination materials should be forwarded to:

Dennis M. Stanard, President, AHHOF
600 Corporate Parkway, Suite 125
Birmingham, AL 35242
Or Emailed to

D.O. McClusky distinguished himself in the field of hospital administration.  In 1976 he received the American Hospital Association's top honor, the Distinguished Service Award.  "Mr. McClusky and fellow honoree, Dr. Richard A. Thigpen, were instrumental in the founding of the Alabama Healthcare Hall of Fame in 1997.