Important 2020 Dates & Events

Monday, March 2nd, Deadline for Nominations

Friday, April 17, Board Meeting at Noland Health Services Executive Office, Birmingham

Saturday, July 18, Awards Luncheon at Alabama Activity Center, Montgomery

We welcome the following 2019 Appointments to the AHHOF Board of Directors:

Jorge Alsip, M.D.
Dr. Jorge Alsip is a graduate of the University of Alabama School of Medicine, and later in his career earned an MBA degree. He is board certified in Emergency Medicine and in 2011 was appointed the first chief medical information officer (CMIO) for UAB Health System. Dr. Alsip has also served as president of the Medical Association of Alabama, Chairman of he Alabama Department of Public Health, and chairman of the Alabama Board of Medical Examiners.

Gerhard A.W. Boehm, M.D., FACS
Dr. Gerhard Boehm’s distinguished career spans 47 years as a general surgeon, including the performance of more than 7,000 breast surgeries primarily for cancer patients. Active in many professional areas, he served as president of the Alabama Medical Alumni Association, and in 2017 received its Distinguished Alumnus Award. He also served as Alabama chapter president of the American College of Surgeons and is a 2018 inductee into the Alabama Healthcare Hall of Fame.

Joel Patton Hearn, D.M.D.
Dr. Joel Hearn is a 1972 graduate of the University of Alabama School of Dentistry. Now retired, he practiced dentistry in Florence, Alabama for over 38 years. Dr. Hearn served as president of the Alabama Association of Endodontists; president of the Alabama Dental Alumni Association, President of the Alabama Dental Association; and was recipient of the UAB School of Dentistry Distinguished Alumnus Award; and past UASOD Alumni Association Fuller Award recipient.